History of Erasmus Programme

Desiderius Erasmus of Rotterdam, the famous Renaissance humanist who graduated from the University of Turin in 1506, inspired the name of the ERASMUS Programme (European Community Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students), which was established by the European Union in 1987. The Erasmus Programme is aimed to enhance the quality and the European dimension of higher education and to foster the mobility of university undergraduates, doctoral students and teaching staff.
The Socrates/Erasmus Community Programme was later set up in 1995 to promote collaboration among Universities with a view to implementing, via bilateral agreements, conditions under which students and staff may undertake a study period or teaching assignment, officially recognized by their University, at other European Universities. The Programme ended in 2006 having given over one million students the chance to study all over Europe.
The Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP) was established in 2007, replacing the Socrates programme, as a European Community project designed to foster cooperation in the field of higher education and facilitate LLP/Erasmus student mobility between universities. 
Those institutions with the right to participate in the Erasmus project must be from a European Union member state and from other non-European Union countries awarded with the Erasmus University Charter (EUC).

The LLP/Erasmus Programme – studying abroad

The LLP/Erasmus Programme offers students two different types of mobility: Student Mobility for Studies (SMS) and Student Mobility for Placements (SMP). The programme allows students from universities (or assimilated higher education institutions) as well as doctoral students to spend a study period lasting at least three months (mobility for studies) or two months (mobility for placements) and no more than twelve months at another University of one of the countries participating in the Programme that has signed a bilateral agreement with their University.
Erasmus students receive a grant provided by the European Commission, have to the opportunity to follow courses and/or do a work placement and are able to use the facilities provided by the host University without paying any further enrolment taxes. It is also guaranteed that the study period abroad will be fully recognized using the ECTS (European Credit Transfer System). For further information consult the regulations for Erasmus students published and approved on 6/10/2014 by the CCS (Chemistry Faculty Board), as well as the presentation of the DCIC Open Day held in May 2015 (find both attachments at the bottom of this page).

Erasmus Students

Before leaving, Erasmus students can follow language courses organised by our University. Those students heading to countries with less widely-spoken languages may attend intensive language courses (EILC - Erasmus Intensive Language Courses), to prepare them for the Erasmus mobility period. Disabled students are entitled to specific allowances. 
Students who are interested in participating in the LLP/Erasmus programme must apply to the annual selection notice.

For information on the Erasmus programme, consult the appropriate section on the University’s website. For further information and support, please contact the DCIC foreign affairs representative Prof. Mauro Giovannini.

Further information for students entitled to receive an ERASMUS grant is given in the FACULTY KIT of Scienze M.F.N. (Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences).

For information

For further information, please contact the following addresses.

Last update 10 March 2023